4 days……

Well I have been in the wine country now 4 days. Perhaps “Scarred Beauty” would describe it. One of the nice things about being here is the relative safety one feels. You can still walk around in the central town without fear of being attacked…..which is completely opposite to the big cities which are like armed camps. This area is very “Afrikaans” with most people speaking it as a first language. The few that I have met seem very warm ! I really can’t say what I expected the little piece of South Africa that I have seen so far……suffice to say that it is very different to any expectations I might of had ! I went a saw a movie this afternoon ( I am all “wined” out), and there were warning everywhere to keep your belongings on your lap (bags and purses). Actually I haven’t seen many people carrying bags around here………Which is probably a good thing…..The car rental people tell you to keep your doors locked, and windows up at all times. If you come to a red signal light at night to keep moving slowly through it, lest you get hijacked !

The wine and beer are very good (and cheap). The food is very “stodgy”, not many vegetables and the portions are immense. I am still full from breakfast this morning.

Tomorrow it is back to Cape Town airport and then to Jo’burg. I will stay at an airport hotel as I have an early flight to Livingston, Zambia on Monday the 9th. Not to worry as I am flying British Airways……

One thought on “4 days……

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY PHIL!!! THE PHOTOS OF THE ANIMALS ARE FAB. HOPE YPU ARE HAVING FUN. HAVE AGREAT YEAR. LOVE SYDNEY, WAYNE AND SAM.

Leave a Reply

